Brian Ó Gallachóir Statement to the Joint Committee on Environment and Climate Action on Carbon Budgets

The Joint Committee on Environment and Climate Action met on 11 January 2022, Prof. Brian Ó Gallachóir gave an Opening statement on Carbon Budgets on behalf of the Climate Change Advisory Council’s Carbon Budgets Committee to the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Environment and Climate Action.

Read Prof. Brian Ó Gallachóir opening statement here | Read the background paper by Climate Change Advisory Council that was submitted to the Committee here

Representatives from the Climate Change Advisory Council included: Professor Brian Ó Gallachóir, Marie Donnelly (Chairperson), Patrick King, Professor Lisa Ryan –UCD, Peter Thorne, Dr Trevor Donnellan– Teagasc, Dr Hannah Daly –UCC, Dr Kevin Hanrahan –Teagasc, Dr David Styles – UL. 

The Oireachtas committees advise the Houses of the Oireachtas on a range of specific areas. Committee members include TDs, Senators or both. Committees receive submissions and presentations from members of the public, interest groups and Government Departments.

A video of the carbon budgets meeting can be found here.